There are 10 kinds of people in the world

320870259_35f7952e8a

I recently found that I’ve been accepted in a course at a prestigious school, taught by an artist I’m in awe of.  I didn’t get in because of my abilities (applications are selected in a lottery, and I’m paying for the course), but it’s my dream opportunity to learn from someone whose work amazes me, and I’m delirious with excitement.  Of course the minute I found out my registration was accepted I started worrying, about the cost of the course, whether I have the skills to keep up, if I’ll be able to come up with some creative projects for the class, if my wife will resent me for leaving her alone for a week right before we go on a big trip, and on and on.  I had waffled for a while about applying, because of those concerns, but I knew I’d regret it for years if I didn’t take the leap, so I sent in my application.  I know it will be the experience of a lifetime.

I have a friend whose approach to life is to avoid anything that takes effort.  They’re brighter than I am, able to do impressive work, but they are just not interested in making any effort to change their life.  Everything is just too much trouble.

I know another person who lives their life afraid:  of crowds, of being alone,  cold weather, hot weather, snow, rain, driving at night.  They see a world filled not with opportunities, but with threats that must be guarded against.  In the unlikely event they commit to participating in something, they often change their minds and back out rather than take a risk.

The title of this post is a joke that went around tech circles a few years ago, a visual pun on the binary numerical system.  The joke is “there are 10 types of people in the world, those that understand binary and those who don’t”, because in binary “10” equals “2”.  (details here).

When it comes to change there are two types of people in the world, those who are willing to act to get what they want, and those who aren’t.  You get to make that choice every day. Are you going to be a zero, or a one?

Photo Credit: <a href=”https://www.flickr.com/photos/44124452748@N01/320870259/”>Josh Bancroft</a> via <a href=”http://compfight.com”>Compfight</a&gt; <a href=”https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;

2 Comments

Filed under General

2 responses to “There are 10 kinds of people in the world

  1. Good point! And congrats on going for something you want!

  2. I think we have a choice of getting through life or LIVING our lives.