What to do when it’s no fun

Seth Godin says in “What to do when it’s your turn” that taking your turn is “easy, it’s fun, and it’s guaranteed to work. All of that is true except for the part about easy, fun and guaranteed.”

For the last few weeks I’ve disagreed: working in my studio and writing about it was easier than I expected it would be. And it was fun, because there were so many others engaged in the same process and we were all encouraging each other. And from the point of view of attracting visitors to my blog, it was guaranteed: every time I posted to facebook I saw a spike in my reader stats. Everything was on track.

Then I missed a day. I did a lampworking demo on Saturday, as part of a really full day, and I was just too tired to write about it. I posted a write up on Sunday, and scraped up a post mechanically on Monday, but I wasn’t feeling it. And I was shocked at how easy it was to stop: it was like a tap being turned off. I just didn’t have anything to say. I’ve been reading Seth’s book, and some fiction, and I ran some errands, but after my push to get ready for the demo I just didn’t feel the need to work on my glass, or to write.

And it got me down. I was marveling at other artist’s work, and my own didn’t measure up, and I started to question my motives, and my abilities, and to criticize myself for giving up so easily, and I went into a funk.

What did I do to shake it?

I got to work.

Yesterday I got back in the studio, hooked up my jewelers torch, and got to work putting together bezel cups for the higher end earrings and pendants I want to offer some markets. I cranked up the music, and got back to doing what I love, and I felt better about everything. I wasn’t a failed blogger, I was a craftsman with work to do, and the repetitive nature of that work and the tangible progress I made help me shake off the blues.

That’s all for now, but I’ve got a few discoveries to share in the next few days, and I’ll have new content on the studio blog tomorrow. It’s good to be back.

Comments Off on What to do when it’s no fun

Filed under General

Comments are closed.