The silver lining

In my last entry I whined a bit about the unsettling things I’d discovered about retirement (after retiring from UGA at the age of 54).  I’m coming to my senses:

  1. I realize how extremely lucky I am to have a full pension and be able to do whatever I want at this age, and in this age of outsourcing, contracting, layoffs and municipal bankruptcies.  It’s still possible that the Teachers Retirement System of Georgia might have to make changes to pensions in the years to come, but it’s highly unlikely: their customer service leaves a lot to be desired, but their financial management performance has been excellent.  I’m very lucky, and I know it.
  2. Now that I’m out of the IT rat race I’m sleeping at night.  I feel as though my shoulders are dropping, like a spring that was wound tight with tension is slowly unwinding.  I laugh and smile more.
  3. I’m a homebody, and a lot of my time has been spent working on projects around the house that I never had time for before.  And I’m finding that very satisfying, (although when I work in the yard I get aches in muscles I’d forgotten I had).  Several people teased me about Amy handing me a “honey-do” list, but I’ve contributed half the items on the list, and I’m happy to report some progress in that area.  Still plenty to do.
  4. I’ve spent more time trout fishing in the last month than I did all of last year, and I’m getting better at it.  My casting and line control aren’t where I want them to be, but I’m raising fish, and missing fewer strikes.  And (thanks to my TU friends) I’ve discovered some gorgeous rivers in Georgia and North Carolina.
  5. I’m spending more time in the studio, and have had a few sales.  As I used to write on performance reviews, “more focus is needed in this area”.
Comments Off on The silver lining

Filed under General

Comments are closed.