Kindle rocks!

After surveying the ereader market I popped for the Kindle, and I’m enjoying it immensely. I waffled for a while (I really like the idea of library lending that’s been embraced by Sony and Barnes and Noble, but not by Kindle), but with the new lower prices I finally decided to just order the wireless model and be done with it. I don’t plan to buy kindle editions of all the books on my list, but I have read several that are available for free, and there are books on the list that I do plan to buy. I’ve already bought several current best sellers as Kindle editions to read on my iphone, which is much easier to carry during the day.

I don’t know whether it’s the novelty of the Kindle, or the fact that I’ve set a goal of working through the list, but I’m reading much more than I used to. I’ve finished “Far from the Madding Crowd” (interesting style, I’d never read anything written by Thomas Hardy), “Alice in Wonderland” (far too nonsensical for my taste) and “A Christmas Carol” (right after Christmas, I was still in the mood). The gem so far was “Atonement” by Ian McEwan. I’d never heard of the book until I chose it (I was tired of the older styles of Hardy and Dickens and looking for something contemporary), but I’ve since realized that it was adapted into a movie a few years ago. Amazing book, taut plot, lush characterization, I flew through it.

I’m currently working my way through the “The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes” (it’s been so long that some of the stories, though familiar, can still surprise me), but I’ll probably detour from the list to read Michael Korda’s Hero, a biography of TE Lawrence (“Lawrence of Arabia”). I downloaded a sample chapter (a brilliant Kindle feature) and got hooked.

Comments Off on Kindle rocks!

Filed under reading

Comments are closed.