Ridiculously cold!

We’re in the middle of a nasty cold snap in northeast Georgia, with 10 to 20 mph winds sucking every bit of heat out of our old house.  I was all fired up to measure for storm windows, and get them installed before the end of the year to qualify for the tax credit.  I was disappointed to find that we already have storm windows on almost every window on the first floor.  A few need to be repaired and all of them need to be caulked, but I won’t be able to improve things as much as I’d hoped.

It’s still worth doing, but there’s no hurry to get it done before the end of the year, because we get no tax credit!  I thought storm windows and doors qualified, but after reading closely we only get credit for those installed over certain types of doors and windows, and ours don’t qualify.  It’ll certainly help w/ our heating bills, but the tax credits are only allowed when the base window/door is more efficient that what we already have.  Moronic!

My plan is to install insulation under the floors and caulk and weatherstrip the windows over the Christmas break.

Comments Off on Ridiculously cold!

Filed under General

Comments are closed.