And so it begins…

“It is better by noble boldness to run the risk of being subject to half of the evils we anticipate than to remain in cowardly listlessness for fear of what might happen.”
— Herodotus (The Histories)

“Just do it”
— Nike registered trademark

I’ve joked about starting a blog; to practice writing, to document my ever-changing interests, to record my travels, or perhaps as a diary of my preparation for my “encore career” (4 years to go until retirement).  What finally made me “just do it” was helping my Dad with his blog. It was dead easy to get him set up, but then I realized that I didn’t know how to help him with the WordPress features, and the easiest way to show him the way would be to walk the path myself.

So here we are.

And who am I? My name’s Steve, and I’m a 50-something associate director of IT  who can barely tolerate computers. I got a BS in Zoology from LSU, followed by a MS (concentrating in environmental physiology) at UGA. I moved from physiology into a research tech position in an entomology and molecular genetics lab. After a few years in that field I talked my way into the position of “manager” (and sole employee) of a flow cytometry laboratory, operated as a cost recovery service under the VP for Research. I learned an enormous amount, and loved the job and flow cytometry in general, but after about 8 years I found myself more and more interested in Linux.

Another jump into water over my head, and I was hired as a system administrator in our University’s central IT organization. Almost 10 years later I’m the manager of 18 system administrators, responsible for way too many high profile services, stressed, sleepless and counting the days until my retirement.

You’re probably thinking, “if this is going to be another one of those whiny self-absorbed online diaries, I’ll pass”.  And I know how you feel, I used to read several online journals (before the term “blog” was coined back in the late 90’s) and quickly tired of those with a “dear diary” feel.  I’m not really sure what I’m going to focus on, but it could be any of the following:

  • glass art
  • celtic culture
  • books
  • music
  • food
  • travel
  • home improvment
  • collecting
  • dogs (and cats)
  • fishing
  • Toyota land cruisers
  • restoring old tractors

The one thing I won’t talk about?  My work.  I’ve got a lot of juicy and provocative ideas about the role and structure of IT in a University setting, but to hear those you’ll have to buy me a beer.  In person.  With no recorders running 🙂

Comments Off on And so it begins…

Filed under General

Comments are closed.